words poken by an AMERICAN SOLDIER
Written at 2:46 p.m. on 2004-11-05

I felt as if I needed to post this for myself. I was taken by his words,and I have to say I agree. I just wish the bashing would stop!!!

words spoken by an "AMERICAN SOLDIER"

Subject: More response to the World's view...
From: California_Dad
Date: Nov 5 2004 11:29AM

I remain shocked and saddened by the overwhelming negativity and hurtful comments about America being expressed by many Europeans. Yes, we are a nation divided. However, we have always been a nation divided because we are a nation comprised of many ethnicities, cultural backgrounds, and religious faiths. Throughout our history, short in comparison to European countries, we have prided ourselves as being a 'melting pot". And that is exactly what America is. Why? Because we have kept our country's door open to everyone. When I go to the store, I may buy from a German immigrant. When I get fuel for my car, I may buy from an Iranian Immigrant. When I come home, I do so to my wife whose parents emigrated from Mexico. My own great grandparents came from Ireland. Yet, no matter where we all came from, today we are Americans. We chose this country and it has accepted us.

Yes we are divided and have always been so. It has only been brief periods in our history when we truly united under one banner and for one cause. Sixty years ago, we were divided with the majority wanting to stay out of "that war in Europe". We sat reluctant, not wanting to compromise our own security, while Europe was gradually being crushed under the Nazi war machine. After all, the whole Atlantic Ocean was between us and war. However, we did not sit idle, we did sacrifice. Yet, I wonder how Europeans would have felt sixty years ago if the middle-east countries told us to mind our own business and we listened. Perhaps instead of London, you would have New Berlin. Instead of Paris, New Munich. Instead of "God save the Queen"� "God save the Fuhrer"?

before | and | after